The Garden of Earthly Delights

I have just finished watching the National Geographic documentary- a beautifully shot and engaging documentary which addresses ALL the issues leading to climate change in a brilliantly fluid sequence.

CLIMATE CHANGE IS REAL. If you do not have time to watch the whole thing, I urge you to take 15 minutes and start at 1:20.

When others ask if I am a vegetarian, I reply cooly that I am “meat conscious”.  This is a term coined by myself in which I limit my intake of meat. I am conscious of the amount of meat I consume (get it?), and when cooking at home I hardly use meat (bar bacon).  I haven’t eaten fish in over 2 years as I am a firm believer that the over fishing of the oceans is greedy and horrifying.  But having said that, my love for steak and bacon have muddled my thought process of ever trying to become vegetarian.

There I am on my high fucking horse about the devastation of palm oil on the rain forests, when everything palm oil stands for (companies using the cheap oil to save money (capitalism!), deforestation to grow the palm trees to produce the oil (capitalism!)) is directly related to the ethical issues tied to the beef and livestock industry. Who am I to say that the over fishing of the oceans is horrifying, when the amount of land and water used to produce a quarter pound burger is ASTOUNDING (160 litres of water, by the way).

Today is the day I become vegetarian. I haven’t been drinking milk for a while (I really do not see the logic in the battles I pick…), but cheese is something I will find hard to cut out.

Wish me luck on my journey.

Leave a Reply

